Research Journal April 22, 2013

The gloomy weather today seems to be an extension of my mood.

It appears that every positive step I take results in another brick wall.

My main objective is to locate the biological parents of David Brazille Plunk, who simply assumed that surname from the people who raised him.  I finally get a perfect 37/37 marker match to another male tester who, as my luck would have it, isn’t who he thought he was.  I then find a male descendant of the suspect line that I think my Plunk descended from, and again, my luck, he isn’t who he thought he was either.

I sent out a plea last night to message boards and on FaceBook to men with the suspect surname asking them to test so we can put it all together.  So far, the only response was from a smart aleck asking me to give him a hundred thousand dollars in exchange for his DNA.  Words can not explain the anger, hurt, and disillusionment I felt from his comments.

David Brazille Plunk was born 1879/80 in AR according to his WWI Draft Card and Census records.  The first record I can even find of him is in 1900, listed as a boarder, living with his adoptive parents.

I’m assuming that his parents would probably have been born sometime around the mid 1800’s.  Say 1850 – 1860.  This is the time frame for the Civil War.  From everything I’ve read about the suspected biological line, they would have been in Marion County, Arkansas at that time.  There were a lot of deaths during this time, of both men and women, due to the war and illness, resulting in quite a few children being raised by relatives and oftentimes assuming surnames of the people who raised them.

I keep trying to convince myself to just walk away from it for a while in hopes that distance and time will bring more clues.  But, I can’t.  Something keeps me thinking about it and wondering what I’m missing.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patti Plunk
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 12:47:29

    Don’t give up Carla! Thank you for all of your hard work, it is very appreciated!!

    Reply

  2. mistamar2u
    May 21, 2013 @ 02:29:18

    Keep up the good work! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

