Mary E. Bridges 52 Ancestors #2

In Louise Myrtle Haywood, 52 Ancestors #1, I wrote about some questions as to why she also used the name Myrtle Elijah Way.

In the 1910 U.S. Federal Census, I found Mary Haywood, a widow, living in the household of her parents, John W. Bridges and Nancy Adeline Pugh in Washington, Fulton, Arkansas. Also in that household were Mary’s daughters, Kate K. Haywood, age 11 and Louise M, Haywood, age 1. I was pretty sure this was the family I was looking for, but I needed further proof.

I contacted both Haywood and Bridges family researchers and although they all knew of Mary Bridges Haywood and her daughters, no one knew what had happened to her Haywood husband, nor why Louise Myrtle Haywood was using the name Elijah as her middle name. One of those researchers suggested I contact Tamara who was related to both the Haywood and Bridges families. A happy referral for me because it turned out that Tamara and I are double cousins. Tamara led me to the Arkansas, County Marriages Index, 1837-1957:

Name: Mary Bridges
Gender: Female
Age: 25
Birth Year: abt 1880
Residence: Viola, Fulton, Arkansas
Spouse’s Name: E C Haywood
Spouse’s Gender: Male
Spouse’s Age: 21
Spouse’s Residence: Viola, Fulton, Arkansas
Marriage Date: 25 Jun 1905
Marriage License Date: 22 Jun 1905
Marriage County: Fulton

Then five years later:
Name: Mary Haywood
Gender: Female
Age: 30
Birth Year: abt 1880
Residence: Viola, Fulton, Arkansas
Spouse’s Name: C A Way
Spouse’s Gender: Male
Spouse’s Age: 37
Spouse’s Residence: Viola, Fulton, Arkansas
Marriage Date: 16 Aug 1910
Marriage License Date: 15 Aug 1910
Marriage County: Fulton

I now have the proof that Mary E. Bridges is my great grandmother, and her daughter Louise Myrtle Haywood is my grandmother, Myrtle Elijah Way.

I can understand that her use of the Way surname was her step father’s surname. I’m suspecting her use of Elijah is something to do with her father, E.C. Haywood.

As happens to me constantly, all of this lead to even more questions. According to the 1910 Census, the daughter Kate was born in 1899 , but Mary Bridges married E.C. Haywood in 1905. It doesn’t appear that Mary was married to another Haywood prior to E.C. Haywood. Who, then, is Kate?

Myrtle was born March of 1909, and her mother, Mary Bridges Haywood, marries C.A. Way in August of 1910. What happened to E.C. Haywood? My family legend is that he died from being kicked in the head by a mule. Did he?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Alice Gose La Rue
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 16:19:54

    Thomas D Mayes b 1779 VA- d. 26 May 1867 in Rutledge, TN (my3rd grgrandfather) married an Elizabeth Bridges 9ca 1779 VA0 in Rutledge, TN. Just wondering if there would happen to be any connection.
    Thanks,
    Mary Alice GOSE La Rue

    Reply

    • Carla Wallain Davis
      Jan 31, 2014 @ 17:39:35

      Hi Mary

      This Mary Elizabeth Bridges was born 1879 Missouri and died 1973 Arkansas. She was the daughter of John W. Bridges and Nancy Adeline Pugh. I checked my database and didn’t see info for your Thomas D. Mayes. Have you contacted the Thomas and Bridger Association? They may have some information as to what part of the family your Elizabeth Bridges belongs to. Their website is: http://thomasandbridges.com/index.php

      Reply

  2. Trackback: 52 Ancestors Challenge: Week 5 Recap | No Story Too Small
  3. ken
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 01:13:34

    could you alice bridges was a teacher in louisiana

    Reply

Leave a Reply

