A Kings Daughter (Claude Damise) # 8 of 52 Ancestors

I’ve very behind on my commitment to write about 52 ancestors in 52 weeks. The only excuse I have is that life gets in the way.

To be honest, I don’t know yet whether or not Claude Damise is one of my ancestors. She is a woman I found, of French descent, in my increasing volumes of research seeking my biological ancestral family. She is the ancestor of one of my genetic “cousins” so it’s possible she will turn out to be one of my ancestors.

I found her very intriguing in that written in hand in the margins of a French genealogy book, next to the name of Claude Damise was the words “kings daughter”. In my ignorance, I took that literally and was trying in vain to find a King of France with a daughter named Claude.

In actuality, the term “Kings Daughters” was the name given to a group of approximately 800 women that were sent to Canada from France by Louis IV. Their passage, after they had been scrutinized by the Church to be upstanding young women, was paid by the government. The purpose of the program was to encourage settlement of men in Canada “New France”.

This program was between the years of 1663 and 1673. According to Orphans in France, Pioneers in Canada: The King’s Daughters in the 17th Century. Part 2: Biographical List of the King’s Daughters, Claude Damise arrived in Quebec, Canada in 1668, at the age of 18.

Shortly thereafter, also in 1668, she married Pierre Perthius, a member of Carignan-Salières Regiment. She apparently settled into her new life, and began populating New France with their offspring.

Claude Damise Perthius died in Montreal in 1705. I haven’t found the cause of her death, but I can imagine the hardships she faced on a new frontier. I think she is a woman I would be proud to call my ancestor. I hope I get to keep her in my tree.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 52 Ancestors Challenge: Week 25 Recap | No Story Too Small

Leave a Reply

