The surname Brazeau

If you have been reading my posts, I’m sure you have figured out my obsession with finding the biological parents of my great grandfather, David Brazille Plunk.

Today, my curiosity has turned to his middle name, Brazille. At one time, I have thought this might be a family surname passed down. In actuality I still think it is, but my initial thought was that it was from the Rev. Bracewell family. Some variations of the surname Bracewell are Braswell, Brazell, Brazil, Breazeale, Brazille, anything that rhymes with dazzle.

But, there is apparently another possibility of the origin of his middle name. Of course, I’m no expert, and I have no proof, but merely offer this as a possibility and another avenue of research.

I’ve been researching Lucinda Coker’s son, Charles E. Nipps, and the women he may have known. During the Civil War, Lucinda was seeking passport from the Rolla Refugee Camp to St. Lewis, MO, along with her children, to join her then husband, Thomas Boatwright. Lucinda must have died between 1864 and 1865, because Thomas Boatwright married Rebecca Phillips in October of 1865, in St. Genevieve, MO.

So, at least for awhile, her son, Charles E. Nipps, was living in the St. Genevieve area. In fact, St. Genevieve, MO is where Charles E. Nipps met and married Margaret Catherine Albert Courtois. Margaret’s first husband was Francis/Francois courtois and they had a daughter, Antonia Elizabeth Courtois.

Out of curiosity, I started looking at the people living in St. Genevieve, MO during the time Charles E. Nipps would have been living there. In so doing, I ran across Jean Baptiste Brazeau married Marie Joseph Biroleau in St. Genevieve in 1755. No clue if this is Missouri or where or even if he is related to the Courtois family.

It’s the name Brazeau that caught my attention. There are, of course, several variant spellings of this surname which has its orginations in France. I’m wondering, if by the time the family made it into Missouri, considering the level of education available at the time, accents of the region, and other factors, could it be possible that my great grandfather’s middle name of Brazille was actually Brazeau?

Leave a Reply

